Backstage Pass with Lia Chang

Sree Sreenivasan, Chief Digital Officer for the Metropolitan Museum of Art, to receive 2016 Alumni Award on April 16

Sree Sreenivasan 3

Congratulations to Sree Sreenivasan, chief digital officer for the Metropolitan Museum of Art, who is among five distinguished alumni of Columbia’s Graduate School of Journalism who will be honored at the 2016 Alumni Weekend, April 15-16, 2016. The awards will be presented on Saturday, April 16, at a luncheon at Low Library.

The Alumni Award winners are Sreenivasan ’93, Solly Granatstein ’94, a television producer, Margo Jefferson ’71, author, critic and teacher; and David McHam ’60.

Sreenivasan is also a noted speaker on social media. He was on the faculty of the Journalism School beginning in 1993, and his courses focused on new media, web design and social media. Sreenivasan also served as dean of students, and finally as chief digital officer for the university. Recently, he was named one of Fast Company magazine‘s 25 Most Creative People. He also regularly runs workshops for working journalists on the advanced use of the Internet and multimedia reporting.

Solly Granatstein headshot 2013 - small version Solly Granatstein ’94 has won nine Emmys, a DuPont, a Peabody and numerous other awards for his work during nearly two decades as a producer at all three major network TV news divisions, including twelve years at “60 Minutes.” Most recently, he won a George Polk Award and an IRE Medal for “The Real Death Valley,” a 2014 joint Weather Channel-Telemundo investigation of the deaths of hundreds of migrants in one rural Texas county. He was also co-executive producer of “Years of Living Dangerously,” an Emmy-winning docu-series on climate change that aired on Showtime.

MargoJeffersonsmall Winner of a Pulitzer Prize for criticism, Margo Jefferson ’71 was for years a theater and book critic for Newsweek and The New York Times. She is the author of the recent book “Negroland: A Memoir,” and “On Michael Jackson.” Her writing has appeared in, among other publications, Vogue, New York magazine, and The New Republic. She is a professor of writing at Columbia University School of the Arts.

McCann2 David McHam ’60 was a journalism professor and mentor to a couple of generations of journalists who got their start in Texas. He taught at Baylor University, Southern Methodist University, the University of Texas at Arlington and the University of Houston until he retired earlier this year. He is the author of “Law and the Media in Texas,” which has been in circulation since 1972. He began his career in journalism at The Spartanburg (S.C.) Herald while still in high school, and has worked at The Waco News-Tribune, The Houston Post and the Dallas Times Herald.

Keith Goggin ’91, a member of the School’s Board of Visitors who has been organizing his J-School peers and volunteering his services to the school since he was a student, is the recipient of The Founder’s Award.

Keith Goggin Photo 2013 small Goggin joined the School’s Alumni Executive Committee the year after he graduated. In 2003, after stepping down from the Executive Committee, he became co-chair of the School’s Alumni Annual Fund Campaign, the School’s first peer-to-peer fundraising effort. He currently serves on the School’s Board of Governors, the body that advises Dean Steve Coll. He is also a Presidential Appointee to the Board of Directors of the Columbia University Club of New York and serves on the Board of the Columbia Alumni Association. In addition to his board and committee work, Goggin endowed the Class of 1991 Scholarship Fund and, as a class agent, often hosts his class dinner during the annual spring reunions. Following a brief career in journalism, he forged a second career in trading and private investing and is currently a partner at Integral Derivatives, a New York Stock Exchange-based options specialist firm.

The Alumni Awards are presented annually for a distinguished journalism career in any medium, an outstanding single journalistic accomplishment, a notable contribution to journalism education or an achievement in related fields. The winners were selected by a panel of jurors composed of previous award winners, headed by Fiona Kirk ’00, chair of the Alumni Board. Previous winners are listed here.

The Founder’s Award was created in 2007 to recognize an alumnus who has demonstrated continued support for the mission of the school. Keith is only the fifth recipient of the Founder’s Award. The others are listed here.

Click here for the Lia Chang Articles Archive and here for the Lia Chang Photography Website.

Lia Chang. Photo by Garth Kravits

Lia Chang. Photo by Garth Kravits

Lia Chang is an award-winning filmmaker, a Best Actress nominee, a photographer, and an award-winning multi-platform journalist. Lia has appeared in the films Wolf, New Jack City, A Kiss Before Dying, King of New York, Big Trouble in Little China, The Last Dragon, Taxman and Hide and Seek, which will screen at the Disorient Film Festival in Eugene Oregon in April. She is profiled in Examiner.comJade Magazine and

All text, graphics, articles & photographs unless otherwise indicated: © 2000-2016 Lia Chang Multimedia. All rights reserved. All materials contained on this site are protected by United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of Lia Chang. You may not alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice from copies of the content. For permission, please contact Lia at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Follow Backstage Pass with Lia Chang on