Backstage Pass with Lia Chang

12th Annual New York Indian Film Festival Nominees for Best Picture, Best Documentary, Best Actor, & Best Actress

The 12th Annual New York Indian Film Festival (NYIFF), presented by the Indo-American Arts Council (IAAC), which runs from May 23 to 27 at the Tribeca Cinemas in Lower Manhattan, showcases more than 50 features, documentaries, and short films over a span of five days. The festival kicked off with an opening night red carpet screening of Bedabrata Pain’s CHITTAGONG on May 23 at the Paris Theater, followed by a VIP gala dinner at the Essex House Ballroom. Tonight, Rituparno Ghosh’s CHITRANGADA, the centerpiece film will have its world premiere at Tribeca Cinemas. On Sunday, May 27, 2012, Anurag Kashyap’s GANGS OF WASSEYPUR closes the festival at NYU’s Skirball Theater, followed by an awards ceremony and closing night party, sponsored by Wells Fargo.

“And the nominees for the 12th annual NYIFF are…”

Big in Bollywood
Inshallah Football
Saving Face
Transgenders: Pakistan’s Open Secret

Pooja Desai, Anvita Dutt, Rajesh Narasimhan, Ashish Patil (Mujshe Fraaandship Karoge)
Avinash Deshpande (Shala)
Rituparno Ghosh (Chitrangada)
Vetri Maaran (Aadukalam)
Bedabrata Pain, Shonali Bose (Chittagong)

Sujay Dahake (Shala)
Rituparno Ghosh (Chitrangada)
Vetri Maaran (Aadukalam)
Prashant Nair (Delhi in a Day)
Bedabrata Pain (Chittagong)

Sihle Dlamini (Lucky)
Dilzad Hiwale (Bubble Gum)
Dilzad Hiwale (Chittagong)
Ashuman Joshi(Shala)
Ketaki Mategaonkar (Shala)
Mohd Samad (Gattu)

Bombay Snow
Dilli Dreams
Do Pahar
Silent Waters

Manoj Bajpayee (Chittagong)
Dhanush (Aadukalam)
Ankur Khanna (Abosheshey)
Nana Patekar (Shagird)
Nawazuddin Siddiqui (Dekh Indian Circus)
Nawazuddin Siddiqui (Chittagong)

Jayashree Basavaraj (Lucky)
Priyanka Bose (Gangor)
Tannishtha Chatterjee (Dekh Indian Circus)
Anjali Patil (Delhi in a Day)
Lipica Shah (Let’s Be Out, The Sun Is Shining)

The independent jury who votes for their favorite nominees in each category are: Parag Amladi, Ashish Avikunthak, Dev Benegal, Jerry Carlson, Tejaswini Ganti, Udayan Gupta, Poorna Jagannathan, Kavey Kaul, Joseph Mathew, Myrna Moncayo-Iyengar, Claus Mueller, Muriel (Mike) Peters, Zenobia Shroff, and Nilita Vachani. The awards are audited by KPMG, and the winners will be announced at an awards ceremony following the closing night film on May 27.

For more information about the entire schedule, please visit

About the Indo-American Arts Council:
The Indo-American Arts Council is a registered not-for-profit arts organization passionately dedicated to showcasing, building awareness, and celebrating artists of Indian origin in the performing, visual and literary arts. Annual festivals of art, dance, play writing and film are scheduled through the year, with several special events and book launches. For further information please visit NYIFF was born in the aftermath of 9/11 in response to Mayor Giuliani’s call to New Yorkers to help rebuild a limping city. The First Annual film Festival opened its doors with Film Diaspora Godfather Ismail Merchant and closed with New York’s favorite Indian filmmaker Mira Nair.

Other Articles by Lia Chang:
C.J. Wilson navigates armor and swordplay in Signature Theatre Company’s World Premiere of Kenneth Lonergan’s Medieval Play
Photos: In Rehearsal with BD Wong at Dixon Place for Live Concert Recording of Herringbone
David Henry Hwang Set as Signature Theatre’s Residency One Playwright for the 2012-2013 Season
Performing Arts Images from the Asian American Pacific Islander Collection on Display at the Library of Congress to Celebrate APA Heritage Month
Photos: David Henry Hwang, Oskar Eustis, BD Wong, Brian d’Arcy James, Francis Jue, Jennifer Lim and Leigh Silverman at WNYC’s The Greene Space
Click here for the Lia Chang Articles Archive and here for the Lia Chang Photography Website.

Lia Chang. Photo by Brianne Michelle Photography

Lia Chang. Photo by Brianne Michelle Photography

Lia Chang is an actor, a performance and fine art botanical photographer, and an award-winning multi-platform journalist.
All text, graphics, articles & photographs: © 2000-2012 Lia Chang Multimedia. All rights reserved. All materials contained on this site are protected by United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of Lia Chang. You may not alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice from copies of the content. For permission, please contact Lia at

One comment on “12th Annual New York Indian Film Festival Nominees for Best Picture, Best Documentary, Best Actor, & Best Actress

  1. Rick
    May 25, 2012

    Great festival. Quality content and talent. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow Backstage Pass with Lia Chang on